MINUTES FOR JANUARY 4, 2016 ORGANIZATION MEETING

The organization meeting of the Valley Township Board of Supervisors was held on Monday, January 4, 2016 at 7:00 p.m. at the Township Municipal Building, 890 West Lincoln Highway, Coatesville, PA.

The meeting was called to order at 7:02 p.m. by Supervisor Kathy O'Doherty. Those in attendance were Christopher Lehenky, Kathy O'Doherty, Patrice Proctor, Joe Sciandra, and Arlin Yoder. A moment of silence was observed followed by the Pledge of Alligance. Ms. O'Doherty called for nominations to be opened for Chairman of the Board of Supervisors.

NOMINATIONS FOR CHAIRMAN:

Mr. Yoder nominated Patrice Proctor for chairman. The motion was seconded by Mr. Lehenky. Hearing no other nominations, the vote was taken to appoint Patrice Proctor as Chairwoman of the Board of Supervisors. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – abstain.

The meeting gavel was turned over to Ms. Proctor.

NOMINATIONS FOR VICE CHAIRMAN:

Ms. O'Doherty nominated Mr. Yoder for vice chairman. The motion was seconded by Mr. Sciandra. Hearing no other nominations, the vote was taken to appoint Arlin Yoder as Vice Chairman of the Board of Supervisors. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – abstain; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

NOMINATIONS FOR TOWNSHIP MANAGER:

Mr. Yoder made a motion to appoint Robert H. Glisson as Township Manager. The motion was seconded by Ms. O'Doherty. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

NOMINATIONS FOR TOWNSHIP SECRETARY/TREASURER:

Mr. Sciandra made a motion to appoint Janis A. Rambo as Township Secretary/Treasurer. The motion was seconded by Mr. Yoder. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

NOMINATIONS FOR TOWNSHIP SOLICITOR, TOWNSHIP ENGINEER; APPOINTED AUDITOR, ROADMASTER, VACANCY BOARD CHAIR, CHIEF OF WESTWOOD FIRE COMPANY, ZONING HEARING BOARD MEMBER, PLANNING COMMISSION MEMBER, BUILDING/ZONING AND CODES ENFORCEMENT OFFICER, ANIMAL CONTROL OFFICER, EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COORDINATOR, AND FIRE MARSHALL Mr. Yoder made a motion to appoint:

Alan J. Jarvis, Esquire as Township Solicitor Pennoni Associates Inc. as Township Engineer Mingus, Gutowski & Company as Appointed Auditor Christopher Lehenky as Roadmaster Abby Garzia as Vacancy Board Chairwoman

Mike McWilliams as Fire Chief of Westwood Fire Company

Sheila Hamilton as a member of the Zoning Hearing Board to a term to expire on 12/31/18 Charles Bruce as a member of the Planning Commission to a term to expire on 12/31/19

LTL Consultants Ltd. As the Township Building/Zoning Inspector and Codes Enforcement Officer Chester County SPCA as the Animal Control Officer

> Joe Sciandra as the Emergency Management Coordinator Mike McWilliams as the Fire Marshall

Mr. Sciandra seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – abstain; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

NOMINATIONS FOR DEPUTY EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT COORDINATOR:

After discussion, Mr. Sciandra made a motion to temporarily appoint Chief Joseph Friel as Deputy Emergency Management Coordinator until someone else can be appointed. Mr. Yoder seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

NOMINATIONS FOR THE WESTERN CHESTESR COUNTY COUNCIL OF GOVERNMENTS (COG):

Ms. O'Doherty made a motion to appoint Arlin Yoder as Valley Township's delegate to the Western Chester County Council of Governments and to appoint Patrice Proctor as the alternate. Mr. Lehenky seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

DEPARTMENT HEAD APPOINTMENTS:

The following appointments were made for 2016:

PARKS & RECREATION: Mr. Yoder made a motion to appoint Ms. Proctor and Ms. O'Doherty as Department Heads. Mr. Lehenky seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – abstain.

BUILDING/ADMINISTRATION: Mr. Sciandra made a motion to appoint Mr. Yoder as the Department Head and Ms. O'Doherty as the alternate. Mr. Lehenky seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

SAFETY: Mr. Sciandra made a motion to appoint Mr. Yoder and Ms. O'Doherty as the Department Heads. Mr. Lehenky seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

ROADS/TRASH/RECYCLE/WATER & SEWER: Ms. O'Doherty made a motion to appoint Mr. Lehenky as the Department Head of Roads, Trash, Recycle, Water and Sewer and Mr. Yoder as the alternate. The motion was seconded by Mr. Sciandra. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

BILLING & FINANCE: Ms. O'Doherty made a motion to appoint Mr. Yoder as the Department Head of Billing and Finance and Mr. Sciandra as the alternate. Mr. Lehenky seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

LAND DEVELOPMENT & CODES: Mr. Yoder made a motion to appoint Mr. Sciandra as the Department Head of Land Development and Codes and Ms. Proctor as the alternate. Mr. Lehenky seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

BANK DEPOSITORIES:

Mr. Yoder made a motion to approve the following three bank depositories: BB&T Bank (formerly Susquehanna Bank), First Niagara and PLIGIT. Mr. Sciandra seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

3 Minutes of January 4, 2016 Organization Meeting

TAX STRUCTURE:

Mr. Sciandra moved to adopt the tax structure with no changes from last year as follows: 1.50 mills for real estate tax; ½% for earned income; ½% for real estate transfer; \$52 Local Services Tax (LST); and 5% amusement tax. Mr. Yoder seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

SCHEDULE OF MEETINGS:

Mr. Yoder made a motion to set the 2016 schedule of meetings as follows:

- Board of Supervisors Meetings will be held on the first and third Tuesday of each month at 7:30 p.m. with the exception of the second meeting in April when it will be held on Wednesday, April 27, 2016.
- The Planning Commission meetings will be held on the second Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.
- The Parks and Recreation Authority meetings will be held on the fourth Tuesday of each month at 7:00 p.m.
- The Townwatch meetings will be held on the last Wednesday of each month at 6:00 p.m.
- Environmental Advisory Council meetings will be held on the third Thursday of each month at 6:30 p.m.
- The Safety Committee meetings will be held on the second Wednesday of each month at 8:00 a.m.

Mr. Sciandra seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

Mr. Yoder made a motion to close the annual organization meeting and Mr. Sciandra seconded the motion. Question: Mr. Lehenky – yes; Ms. O'Doherty – yes; Mr. Yoder – yes; Mr. Sciandra – yes; Ms. Proctor – yes.

The meeting concluded at 7:24 p.m.

Janis A. Rambo Township Secretary

transcribed from notes taken by Janice Duca, Senior Clerk